In a season of unknowns, there was one thing for certain, High Plains Thunder kids can wrestle

Chase Baker (back row from left to right), Ryder Teten, Garrett Hall, Walker Adams, Braxton Delay, Cash Burke, Steven Reece, Tripp Vigil, Garrett Cowan, Tanner Delay, Holden Adams and Lukas Brennan. Araea Goff (front row from left to right), Raena Goff, Orey Brennan, Maddox Witt, Keen Huston, Coy Robertson, Grady Bohlander, Sawyer Adams and Hayden Unrein.

WHEATLAND – Over the weekend of April 16 to 18 the High Plains Thunder wrestling team competed in the Wyoming Amateur Wrestling Associations State wrestling tournament. In total, they had 22 kids wrestle in three different styles, bringing home a total of 38 medals, including eight state champions, Small Team Greco State Champions and a Triple Crown State Champion. Those kids are Maddox Witt, Orey Brennan, Ryder Teten, Chase Baker, Jackson Donnelly, Holden Adams, Garrett Hall, Hayden Unrein, Keen Huston, Coy Robertson, Lukas Brennan, Braxton Delay, Sawyer Adams, Cash Burke, Grady Bohlander, Steven Reece, Tanner Delay, Brady Donnelly, Garrett Cowan, Tripp Vigil, Araea Goff and Raena Goff.
On the first day of action, HPT had 12 kids competing in the Freestyle tournament. Of those 12 kids, eight of them placed in the top six and two were state champions. The state placers were H. Adams - second, Hall - third, Huston - fifth, Robertson - first, B. Delay - sixth, S. Adams - first, Bohlander - fifth, T. Delay - fourth, Cowan - third and Vigil - second. Along with so many athlete’s placing, HPT had one of the wrestlers receive the highest award possible for kids wrestling in the state of Wyoming and first in Wheatland. Coy Robertson received the 8U Freestyle Governor’s Award for his outstanding accomplishments in Freestyle wrestling for the 2019 season. The award was given in 2021 due to the state tournament being cancelled in 2020.
The second day of action saw 22 HPT wrestlers on the mat. This was the most wrestlers that HPT has ever had compete at a state tournament and they didn’t disappoint. In all there were 14 state placers and three state champions. They were Teten - fourth, Baker - sixth, H. Adams - fifth, Hall - third, Unrein - fifth, Huston - fourth, Robertson - 1st, L. Brennan - fifth, B. Delay - fifth, S. Adams - second, Bohlander - first, Reece - fourth, T. Delay - fifth, Cowan - fourth, Vigil - fifth, A. Goff fist, R. Goff - fifth. Of the three champions, Araea Goff was Wheatland’s first ever Girl’s State Champion in her first year of wrestling.
On day three of a long weekend, HPT had 11 kids signed up for the Greco tournament. This was easily the most that HPT has ever had in this tournament and not only did they sign up, they showed up and competed. All 11 wrestlers placed in the top six and that included three State Champions and a Small Team State Championship, the first ever for High Plains. Those wrestlers were Teten - fourth, H. Adams - first, Huston - third, Robertson - first, B. Delay - first, S. Adams - second, Burke - fourth, Bohlander - third, T. Delay - third, Cowan - fourth and Vigil - second.
The awards didn’t end there for one of the wrestlers, Coy Robertson was State Champion in all three styles, without giving up a single point throughout the whole tournament and pinning nine out of 12 wrestlers, earning himself the title of Triple Crown State Champion. This is only HPT’s second wrestler to ever accomplish this feat.
The High Plains Thunder Wrestling Club would like to thank all of the parent’s and community support during this difficult season. Looking at the above results, there is no doubt that these kids competed at the highest level possible and the coaches and board couldn’t do it without community support.



Video News
More In Sports