Wheatland officially listed on the Register for Historic Places

The historic downtown Wheatland, officially. The proclamation was made at the Town of Wheatland council meeting on Monday evening.

WHEATLAND –After many years of research, struggle and perseverance by the dedicated members of the Historic Preservation Commission, the Wheatland downtown district has been inducted into the National Register of Historic Places.  The members of the commission were appointed by the former mayor, Joe Fabian, in 2017. They are Dan Brecht, Joanie McKee, Linda Fabian, Rick Robbins and Amy Clark.
The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation’s historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service’s National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America’s historic and archeological resources. Generally, properties eligible for listing in the National Register are at least 50 years old.
The official ribbon-cutting ceremony will be held Wednesday, May 26 at the Pocket Park at 5:30 p.m. The next step is erecting signs along the interstate and around town.



Video News
More In Home