Public Notice No. 10745


NOTICE is hereby given that an election will be held on Thursday, August 20, 2020 to elect two board members to the Platte County Groundwater Control Area Advisory Board.  The vacancies were created by the expiration of terms presently filled by Silvia Rutherford (District 1), and Rex Johnson (District 2). District boundaries are shown on the attached figure.  

Nominations for both vacancies will be accepted by the State Engineer’s Office until 5:00 P.M., June 31, 2020.  

Ballots will be available August 3, 2020 and can be downloaded from the State Engineer’s Office’ website @ under “News and Press Releases”.  Physical ballots can be obtained from:
Wyoming State Engineer’s Office
Attn:  Ground Water Division
122 West 25th St
Herschler Building 2-W
Cheyenne, WY  82009

Due to concerns related to COVID-19, completed ballots can be returned to the State Engineer’s Office prior to August 20, 2020 either by U.S. Postal Service (address provided above), or email ([email protected]).

Completed ballots will also be collected from 9:00 A.M. until 3:30 P.M. on August 20th at the Board of Control’s office, 1560 B Johnston Street, Wheatland, WY  82201.

Every person or corporation owning, or entitled by virtue of public land filing to the possession of land situated in and being a part of the Platte County Control Area shall be entitled to cast one vote for each acre of land as assessed upon the last annual roll of the county in which such land is located, or as shown by such public land filing.  A person owning a tract of land of less than one acre shall be entitled to cast one vote.  The grantee or assignee of the water in or under any described land shall be entitled to vote, as prescribed herein, in the place of the person or corporation owning or entitled to the possession of such land. Only the votes which derive from within each district shall be cast in the election of that district board member.

This election is being held pursuant to and under the authority of Wyoming Statute § 41-3-913.  
Lisa Lindemann, Administrator
Ground Water Division
Public Notice No. 10745. To be published in the Platte County Record - Times July 15 and 22, 2020