Initial 'Women in Ag Symposium' held in Platte County

The Platte County 4-H leadership team put together a women’s symposium for the women of Platte County. Women from Chugwater, Guernsey, Glendo and Wheatland were all in attendance. Left to right: Megan Sagner, Tess Palen, Holly Crowley, Amy Miller, Kim Cullen Goertz, Cindy Garretson- Weibel, Bailey Fitzwater, Gracen Mount and Macoyia Stoneking.

WHEATLAND – Women from all over the county came together for the first Women in Ag Symposium which was held at the First State Bank Conference Center.

The Platte County 4-H Leadership Team hosted their first Women in Ag Symposium Oct. 16.  They invited special speakers Kim Cullen Goertz, Amy Miller, and Holly Crowley who addressed all 4-H aged youth interested in attending.  

Each presenter told their personal story and how they decided that their future was going to be agriculturally based.  

“They talked about their education, offered some powerful insights, and opened themselves up to answering questions posed from the attendees,” said 4-H leader Dixie Mount. “The Platte County 4-H Leadership Team has historically invited impressive people to meet with just the team at their annual leadership retreat.  Then in 2021 the group received a grant from the Wyoming Community Foundation with funds from the Woodrow and Glyda May Endowment, to do an agricultural tour in Alberta, Canada.  With the international trip consuming their meetings they decided to forgo the tradition of a leadership retreat.”  

Unfortunately, with COVID-19 restrictions, the team was unable to cross into Canada.  With no international trip and no leadership retreat the team was at a loss for a capstone event to end their 4-H year.

The Platte County 4-H Leadership Team is made up of 4-H members from around Platte County, who are selected to serve on the team based on nominations and interviews. The team members are installed in November and endeavor to put on events and activities throughout the 4-H year with the intentions that they advance the 4-H experience for themselves and all involved in Platte County 4.  

The 2021 Leadership Team consists of Gracen Mount (Wheatland), Bailey Fitzwater (Wheatland), Megan Sagner (Chugwater), Macoyia Stoneking (Guernsey) and Tess Palen (Glendo).  


More In Home